University College Cork (UCC)

Sent by: Wendi Heffernan, Cork Ireland 15 September 2011

University College Cork (UCC) is a constituent university of the National University of Ireland. The university is located in Cork.

The university was founded as a college in 1845 under the original name of Queen's College, Cork. It became University College, Cork, under a charter issued after the Irish Universities Act, 1908 became law. The Universities Act, 1997 renamed the university as National University of Ireland, Cork, and a Ministerial Order of 1998 renamed the university as University College Cork - National University of Ireland, Cork.

The university was named the "Sunday Times Irish University of the Year 2003 - 2004", and again in 2005 - 2006. In 2011 the QS World University Rankings ranked the university 181, placing it amongst the top 2% of universities worldwide. The university also received a 5-star rating in the QS University Rankings 2011, making UCC the first and currently the only Irish University to hold this distinction. Dr. Michael B. Murphy has been president of the university since February 2007.


Post a Comment